PDA

View Full Version : adjusting Glory Hole

Mark Dolan
01-16-2012, 12:21 PM
My gold adventurine is dulling out and ending up as brownish spots rather brilliant gold flecks. I suspect I'm either running my glory hole too hot or my air mix is too lean and I'm reducing a bit. In any event, Tonight I am going to readjust my settings and because I'm new to GH maintenance, I want to make sure my procedure for doing so is sound.

First, my setup includes an air pressure switch set to around 2.75 WC, a pyronics air butterfly valve, and a needle value to control gas input. I also have installed a high/low gas pressure switch and all safety switches are wired to an Eclipse Manual shutoff switch.

After reading past threads on this topic, some people dampen down the air coming out of the blower at GH startup. Because of my above-mentioned setup, I don't feel the need to monkey with the blower. Here is what I plan to do:

1.) Adjust the air butterfly valve to 1/4 way open
2.) open the gas needle valve slightly
3.) light glory hole and observe flame
4.) adjust either air or gas as needed to achieve a neutral blue flame.

I think it is just this simple, but maybe I'm missing something. Any comments from you vets would be appreciated.

Mike Hanson
01-16-2012, 03:30 PM
Are you gathering over the aventurine or are you working it on the outside?
It won't look too good unless it is covered in clear. Also if you are working it too long un-encased in a reduction atmosphere you can burn it causing it to turn brown, sometimes with a dark halo.
I always adjust my GH after it gets hot. I have a bench mark that I start with and depending on what I am doing , meaning how hot I want to work that day, I adjust accordingly. I look from the side at the front opening and adjust it so there is no (maybe a little) flame coming out the door for a nice neutral flame.
I don't really look at the flame coming off of the burner as it is hard to see as the GH gets to its working temp.