PDA

View Full Version : Elements, Relays, and Controllers

Stephen Bishop
02-12-2012, 08:57 PM
So I have been melting glass for around seven years in a modified Aim kiln. Basically just using the electrical components. So over the last several months I have experienced more problems with bad relays, element life, and now controller seems to have fried.

my questions:

First, I heard someone on craft web talk about French elements? Does anyone know if these are better?

How do I calculate the Watts needed to heat a certain volume? For instance Peter's 80 lb Crucible.

SSR however? when they fail don't they fail closed? adding over temp switch?

And Controllers? Fuji again? SOLO? Watlow? what are peoples thoughts?

Really would love to see different wiring diagrams for wire melters. I am tired of pissing in the wind! And know that there are some amazing wire melters out there for a weekend warrior/ middle school art teacher.

Grace upon Grace

Rick Wilton
02-12-2012, 09:20 PM
On my kilns, I ran two SSR's in series, if one fails the second will stop it. It's not ideal nor fool proof, but has given me a bit of peace of mind. I don't think they typically fail either open nor closed as there is no arcing in them to lock up. On a second kiln I have three SSR's one for each element, if any one fails it won't get to dangerously high temps.

Pete VanderLaan
02-13-2012, 04:25 PM
watts is AMPS x volts. You need 2000 watts per cubic foot to get good and hot.

Mark Jesson at Duralite makes elements for AIM Kilns Dudley Gibberson makes nice elements as well but they may be a bit too fine a gauge for you. No one I know is making elements with the french wire. I do want to get a roll with Charlie and Dudley and see what it does.

Go to Mark Lauckners site for Maybe Island Glass for a good notion of a well designed wire melter.

SSR's always have a live leg of power in 240V mode. Watch it. An SCR would be better but costs a lot more.

Dave Hilty
02-14-2012, 08:39 AM