PDA

View Full Version : Cost of materiels?

Tom Clifton
02-13-2012, 03:02 PM
What would you expect the current cost of materiels for Moretti Compatible Batch (http://talk.craftweb.com/showthread.php?p=26587#poststo) to be. As a complete novice, I started looking at Fischer Scientific and Sigma Chemical and was astonished at the prices per KG of some of these things...

Also - where do you purchase supplies from?

Pete VanderLaan
02-13-2012, 04:02 PM
I would expect the costs to be around $1.00 lb for the materials. It would be a high barium, high lithium batch to get up in the 104 L.E.C range.

Prices for small quantities are just really bad. I get some materials from UNIVAR but it's always 50 lb bags and I start getting better pricing at 20 bag breaks. They have been awful on Soda ash and potash lately and I am getting it elsewhere but I can't disclose the source since the source doesn't want to be in that business, sorry

Standard Ceramics in Pittsburg is a metallic oxide source as is US Pigment. Places like Seattle Pottery have everything but bend over. What you need is an industrial chemical house. Get Silica from your local pottery. I get mine from Short Mt Silica in Tennessee and its great stuff. I get at least a ton at a time. Feldspars are pottery supply things as is calcium carbonate, known more as whiting or marble dust. Laguna Clay is another possibility. Refer to the sections on raw materials in Henry's book for that. Stay out of reagent grade chemical houses. ( But my lime is Kosher!)

It's a seek and ye shall find kind of thing.

Tom Clifton
02-13-2012, 05:28 PM