PDA

View Full Version : New Person

Mike Spencer
04-13-2012, 08:23 AM
Hello.. I'm new and my name is Mike..

I have some questions about aKiln I just bought, It's a Duncan ES1020-2.. I haven't tried it out yet.. and need to find out a few things .. 1) the top/lid is a spongy white maiterial.. it seems great on the inside but on the outside top is a hard layer that is coming off in places.. they guy I bought it from says that is normal.. but I would like to repair it ..somehow.. the rest on the Kiln seems great the firebrick on the walls looks new or really great.. and there is cracks across the bottom.. I am new at this .. never had or used a kiln before.. and would like to test it out... any suggestions would be welcome any place I can read up on it would also be great.. also can someone tell about when this kiln was made.. and is it a good one

Regards.. Mike

Rosanna Gusler
04-13-2012, 09:52 AM
hi mike. are you planning on using the kiln to fuse glass or to melt a pot of molten glass for glass blowing? if you are planning to fuse glass www.warmglass.com bulletin board and the tutorial there might be a better place for you to start. this board is mostly glass blowers. great information is to be had here but fusers find warm glass more usefull. welcome to the addiction in any case. rosanna

Mike Spencer
04-13-2012, 10:13 AM
actually I want to try to fuse 6-20 inch 1/4 to 1/2 inch glass circles into Telescope mirror blanks..I want to use 3-6 layers of the circles. I have ordered parts to create a digital temp. controller.. to better gauge and control the temp. of the kiln.. anyone done this...

Mike

Ted Trower
04-13-2012, 12:56 PM
I hope you are planning a first surface mirror?

Mike Spencer
04-13-2012, 01:32 PM
That is correct. you have to grind a first surface spherical mirror.. then parabolize it... then have a aluminum type coating on it...pyrex isn't being made by corning anymore and telescope mirror making are looking towards plate glass..

Mike

Tom Clifton