CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Old 07-11-2017, 07:52 PM

Mark Rendulic is on a distinguished road
Punty Cleanup

I am quite new to glass blowing, and I was wondering how you pros clean up your punty marks. After knocking the part off I have been torching the scar with a mapp gas torch if it looks pretty clean. Otherwise, I let it anneal and knock off as much as I can with a butter knife. Not so pretty. Obviously the goal is to minimize the scar, but what options do I have if I need a little cleanup?
Old 07-11-2017, 07:59 PM
The Old Gaffer

Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road
I grind and polish everything
Old 07-11-2017, 09:05 PM
Young Turk

Eric Trulson is on a distinguished road
Fire polishing (exactly what you do with the mapp gas) tends to be the overwhelming favorite, because lots of glassblowers hate to coldwork. You can deal with a suprisingly bad punty breakoff on most cups/bowls/vases by torching with mapp gas and then pressing in the punty remnants with the bottom of a spoon. Having a kicked bottom (when the bottom is slightly curved into the vessel interior, instead of being perfectly flat) will allow the work to stand straight even with small punty remnants on the bottom.

Fire polishing is quick and easy and great for production and always looks a bit sloppy. If you really want things to be beautiful, grind and polish. If you are going to grind the work afterwards, you'll generally want to keep the bottom perfectly flat, not kicked.
Old 07-12-2017, 08:03 AM
The Old Gaffer

One of the things I find interesting about fire polishing the punty is a question of induced strain.