CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Old 11-04-2018, 10:32 PM

Alvin Barber is on a distinguished road
3D Printed Blow Mold

I'm way over my head on this project (frankly all of my projects are like this). First, I have no experience working with glass so please forgive me if I get aspects of this wrong. I work with metal and wood. I've searched the archive and the forum to get a start and would like confirmation.

Specifically, I am attempting to make a blow mold for a bottle. I need some expert advice on the mold design and corking.

The mold will be cast in bronze using lost PLA casting. While I can CNC route wood, I'm assuming better dimensional accuracy can be had with metal. The bottle is a finned shape one with sharp edges. I will only need 1 or 2 dozen so the mold doesn't need to be long lived.

https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-...-5qcHV97-M.png

Is this shape possible in a blow mold?

Assuming it is possible, will a two part mold design work? The fins have a 1 degree draft on them to allow movement when separating the halves. I'm guessing that I'll need an actuated mold boy to ensure that the mold halves open squarely.

https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-...-PwTw5RM-M.png

I'll keep my questions on corking until I've confirmed its possible. Thanks for reading this far and double thanks on any advice that you can provide.
Old 11-04-2018, 11:00 PM

Michael Ahlefeldt-Laurvig is on a distinguished road
The short answer is no,- you cant make this hand made in a small series in a studio.
You cant get a nice surface on it in a mold that cant move.
It would be possible to make if you wanted tens of thousands, but the start up price would be very high
Old 11-05-2018, 12:09 AM

Thanks for the reply Michael. When you say "can't move", you mean the piece can't move as it would be spun in a paste mold?
Old 11-05-2018, 01:59 PM