CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Old 01-20-2015, 12:44 PM

Philip Yamron is on a distinguished road
Electroglass furnace & saving $1500 on rebuild

Hello. So first I'd like to say hello. I am new to this community. I have been working glass for about 17 years. A couple years ago I purchased a studio worth of equipment including a 150# electroglass furnace. Flash forward to this past summer when it became painfully clear that we have to shut the furnace down and replace the crucible. Cracks on all sides getting bigger. For those of you that are unaware, Electroglass uses a square pot that is only available from Electroglass. When I called I think the price was $2000+ ( I can't remember, I'm sure i blocked the actual number out in my brain somewhere) Anyways, I spoke to Pete on the phone when I called the crucible connection checking in about crucible sizes and capacities. So long story short, I ended up purchasing the 19" round bottom crucible from Pete. build a square wooden box around it and filled the box with mizzue cast-able. Turning my round pot into a square exterior pot, which is necessary for the upper heating chamber to rest on. The interior of the pot is a little wider then the upper heating chambers by about 3/4". So the lip created by the "crown" is half that on all sides as a result of centering the crown. Oh and for the ledge/arch gathering port. I was able to saw cut the disintegrating ledge free from the arch and used a cut 1" hard brick as a replacement for the ledge. Crucible was just over $500+ a few bags of cast-able. Saving about 1500 bucks. Its been working great.
Thanks again Pete for all the help and advice you shared during our phone conversation.

Philip
Old 01-20-2015, 02:08 PM
The Old Gaffer

Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road