CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Old 09-21-2017, 11:12 AM

David Gappa is on a distinguished road
Vertical Belt Sander

Hopefully someone can give me some advise on vertical belt sanders. I have never used one before. I just got off the phone with HIS Glassworks and they have the below model for about $2,700. Is this a good direction to go, or should I explore other models? I also saw some on CR Laurence, but they were quite a bit more expensive.

https://www.hisglassworks.com/shop/m...ter-basin.html
Old 09-21-2017, 12:14 PM

Sky Campbell is on a distinguished road
We have two wet belts in the shop and they are used all the time. If I started over it would be the third tool I'd buy for the cold shop. Lap, lathe, wet belt.
I recommend Salem Abrasives for sic belts but found His cork belts to be better quality.

All that said it might be in your best interest to call around to all the local glazier shops and see if they have any machines to retire. Parts are readily available for all the old professional machines. IMO Sommer & Maca or Somaca as some say are at the top of the list in quality. A roller platen to start and then you can buy or build a flat platten if needed. You may also find them available on some of the industrial surplus sites. I have a hard to with the price of new but certainly the sweet taste of quality will far out the bitter taste of price.
Old 09-21-2017, 12:49 PM
The Old Gaffer

Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road
Tom Philabaum may be selling his machine David. I'd be quite sure you could find a used one with a bit of patience well under 1K. I think I paid sixty dollars for mine in 1974 and it has yet to need anything more that basic maintenance.

There well may be some on Houston that went under water. They might need a new motor. Don't get a machine smaller than a 106 belt.
Old 09-21-2017, 04:44 PM

David Gappa is on a distinguished road