CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > Antiques & Classics

Old 12-22-2003, 12:52 PM
David Paterson

Conductive Paint For Electroplating

I am looking for a source for electrically conductive paint that can be used as a base for electroplating.

It has to adhere well to a sandblasted surface in an acidic electroplating bath.

Thanks.
Old 12-22-2003, 05:21 PM

Eben Horton is on a distinguished road
Did you do a google search for electrodag?
Old 12-22-2003, 09:59 PM
David Paterson

Electrodag is the name of a product group, not a specific product.

I was hoping to find a product someone actually uses.

When I studied glassblowing in the early 1980's, we used a copper based product from a hobby shop. It was not expensive and worked really well. Later, the shop couldnt get the product anymore for some reason.

I then tried a product from Acheson, who makes electrodag. It was silver based and quite expensive, and also didnt work. It peeled off in the copper bath I was using which was quite acidic.

At that point, I moved on, and havent done electroplating on glass since.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
Old 12-23-2003, 02:05 AM

TC Robertson is on a distinguished road
Too much on your electroplate

David I have a bit of experience in electroforming on glass. I helped set up Pilchucks bath in 86 and took Micheal Glancy's class the next year. I have had a tank since 88 and have done work for a few artists including Martin Blank.