CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Color work from rods and batch glasses

Old 02-14-2022, 02:04 PM

Marc Carmen is on a distinguished road
Source for MgO in batch

I could use some help with finding a good source for MgO in batch.

I recently started playing around with magnesium in clear glass but the MgO I have (magnesium oxide from axner) is tinting the glass slightly green at 3%. The oxide itself is a beige color so no surprise here.

Local ceramic supplies carry ďDolocronĒ, which is a dolomite that advertises .3% Fe2O3. This too seems pretty high in iron. Is there a cleaner source of dolomitic lime around?

Magnesium carbonate doesnít look like the economical choice but Iíd be happy to try it if itís the right move for a nice bright glass.
Old 02-14-2022, 08:23 PM
The Old Gaffer

Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road
I've been here and done it. It won't really help your glass out at all, sadly.

Dolomite is not a reliable name for the material as whether it does or doesn't contain magnesium. Chemical analysis is the only resort.

But the bottom line? It doesn't make a better glass. I wish it did. What makes it better is barium/ and zinc actually. Then , think Potash, not sodium.

Mark Peiser did some great work on showing how changing the stabilizers affected color and it's true. John Croucher had sent me a letter on the subject as well.

These days? I make a high potash, high barium / zinc clear glass. It's really nice.
Old 02-14-2022, 08:32 PM

Josh Bernbaum is on a distinguished road
High barium clears do look nice and bright, especially when you hold them next to the Spruce Pine I'm used to. If I weren't such a color junkie, and made work that relied more on the clear being the star of the show, I'd be melting my own or using one of the Glasma batches.
Old 02-15-2022, 09:07 AM
The Old Gaffer