CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2019, 12:10 PM
Mark Rosenbaum's Avatar
Mark Rosenbaum Mark Rosenbaum is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,043
Mark Rosenbaum is on a distinguished road
Electrical Question

I am not an electrician, and I don't pretend to be.
I was gifted a large annealer. It has regular elements around the sides, and a "supercharge" element on top that is separate so that you can turn it on for fusing or slumping. I have no idea how much draw that the elements will take, and neither does the person I got it from. It has never been used....is there a way to measure what the amp draw will be? I don't want to have everything wired to find out that I am short.... TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2019, 12:32 PM
Rick Wilton Rick Wilton is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 206
Rick Wilton is on a distinguished road
I would "jerry rig" it up and put a amperage clamp on the wires to determine the amp draw.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2019, 01:51 PM
Pete VanderLaan's Avatar
Pete VanderLaan Pete VanderLaan is offline
The Old Gaffer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chocorua New Hampshire
Posts: 21,506
Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road
Most commercial elements will run at about 12 AMPS if they are wire elements. That's likely of the top one as well. Rick is spot on with measuring the draw on each one.
Three elements typically will run under a 50 AMP breaker and likely under a 45 AMP one. Do pay attention to the connections between the elements, any limiting control and the service iwre feeding the thing. I would use a fiberglaass wrapped 10 gauge wire to make the connections along with split bolts. Don't rely on wire nuts. I have purchased the high temp wire on Amazon.
__________________
Where are we going and why am I in this basket?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2019, 02:05 PM
Sky Campbell's Avatar
Sky Campbell Sky Campbell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 973
Sky Campbell is on a distinguished road
Use ohms law. Plug in the resistance and voltage to determine amperage.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2019, 02:08 PM
Sky Campbell's Avatar
Sky Campbell Sky Campbell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 973
Sky Campbell is on a distinguished road
This is one of the greatest resources on heating elements for our applications.

https://www.joppaglass.com/elements/...paper_2015.pdf

If you donít understand ohms law google ohms law calculator and punch in the known variables to get your answer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2019, 03:00 PM
Eben Horton Eben Horton is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wakefield, RI
Posts: 4,573
Eben Horton is on a distinguished road
Work backwards. Do the math and calculate the volume of the annealer and the required amps to make it work.

I have 3 14 amp elements in my annealer ( 3360 watts)
__________________
<eben epoiese>
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2019, 03:16 PM
Art Freas Art Freas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 580
Art Freas is on a distinguished road
IF, note IF, it is built right the plug should give you a rough idea (if it has a plug). Plug configuration is specific to a phase, amp, and volt configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2019, 04:03 PM
Shawn Everette Shawn Everette is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 420
Shawn Everette is on a distinguished road
Pics please. We're flying a little blind here.

Sky is correct on ohm's law, but without it being a commercial kiln, or knowing the approximate volume, it's hard to say if it's going under or over powered. Especially having never be fired.

Phase configuration and your voltage will come into play as well.

With inherited homebrew always assume it's under powered AND wired wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2019, 04:05 PM
Rich Simmons's Avatar
Rich Simmons Rich Simmons is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: California
Posts: 38
Rich Simmons is on a distinguished road
I happen to be doing something very similar to Mark. I was gifted a large annealer that I'm rebuilding also. I had planned to replace the Omega controller on the thing once I knew everything is functional as is. My question is related to a separate plug (120v) for the controller. The design follows almost exactly Dudley's circuit shown here:

DudleysDiagram.jpg

My annealer has two plugs 120v for the controller and 240v for the elements. I assume this design was to incorporate the distance between the controller and the lehr. Is there any reason you know of, not to just tap the neutral from the 240v plug across one of the hot (in this case Red wire)?

My thought:
OnePlug.jpg

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2019, 04:16 PM
Brian Graham's Avatar
Brian Graham Brian Graham is offline
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Akron - Ohio
Posts: 521
Brian Graham is on a distinguished road
I have done what you just described Rich and it will work - as long as there is a path to the ground / neutral in the panel. I recommend keeping them isolated though. If something gets shorted and messed up in your 240 circuit - it could fry your 120 devices in the process. I also protect all of my components with quick blow semiconductor fuses.
__________________
The revolution will not be televised.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-27-2019, 11:53 AM
Rich Simmons's Avatar
Rich Simmons Rich Simmons is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: California
Posts: 38
Rich Simmons is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the advice Brian!
I'll keep them separate.
I checked and there are no fuses. I'll add one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-27-2019, 01:26 PM
Richard Huntrods's Avatar
Richard Huntrods Richard Huntrods is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,162
Richard Huntrods is on a distinguished road
My furnace and annealer are both 240V and the controller (Fuji) runs on 110. I did exactly that with both - use a 120 leg to run the controller and the 240 to run the wires. Single 240 plug to the wall. It's been that way since 2003.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


All published comments within these message boards are the opinions of its contributor and does not represent
the opinion(s) of the owner(s) of this website. Please see the Terms of Use file for more details.

Books to Help Artists Avoid Online Scams: Top 10 Email Scams | Social Media Scams

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© CraftWEB.com. Opportunity Network. 2008. All Rights Reserved.