CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk  

Go Back   CraftWEB Hot Glass Talk > Hot Glass > General Hot Glass Discussion

Old 12-01-2018, 03:09 PM

Bradley Howes is on a distinguished road
Black Calcedony

Hello All,

I've been using a modified version of Pete's calcedony to do some research into calcedony. I'm currently an undergrad at Alfred University with Angus Powers as my teacher. I'm taking Glass Art Engine, a class that brings artists and engineers together to find 'problems' in glass that we want to work on.
For those who don't know, Pete's calcedony is:
8 lbs cullet
4.6g silver nitrate
28g black tin oxide
28g zinc oxide
2g red iron

I'm using 75% of the silver, 7g red copper oxide, and about 100g sugar for some reduction.
About 50% of the time, the glass is black with a few cords of color. My very first run of calcedony looked like it was dipped right out of one of Josh Simpson's crucibles. When it turns out black, I'll weigh out about 25% more oxides and throw that on top of the pot and mix it in with a punty. After 30-60 mins, the glass is a lot better but still not great.
I understand calcedony is a fickle color but I'd like to know if there's anything I can do to influence it in future melts.
Old 12-01-2018, 03:35 PM
The Old Gaffer

Pete VanderLaan is on a distinguished road
I've read this twice. I can't even figure out what you want it to do.
Old 12-01-2018, 04:55 PM

So a couple times, it turns out great (vibrant blues with lots of swirls and other colors as well) and I won't have to do anything to it. About half the time though, it just looks black with a few streaks of color. Mainly I want to understand what could be causing this.
Old 12-01-2018, 04:56 PM
The Old Gaffer

I've let this gnaw on me for about 45 minutes while watching Rachel Maddow summarize the Trump scandal. That let me distill some stuff from this question and here it is: